You can say that again

Reviews

A stay at the Black Swan is a chance for you to ‘disappear for a while’ and to leave with a smile. Our comment book is full of the lovely things that our guests have said about us, and here’s a chance to have a look at what other people have said.

If you have stayed at the hotel and would like to add your comments, or if for some reason something hasn’t been quite as you’d hoped it would be, please feel free to email us at enquiries@blackswan-helmsley.co.uk and we will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

The best hotel we have ever stayed in

We stayed at your lovely hotel last night and were thoroughly impressed! The staff are extremely friendly and well mannered and we were made to feel very welcome. We loved the little extras that make this hotel stand out, this and it’s location makes the Black Swan the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We will definitely be back!

Jessica Evans & Jim Carter – July 2014

Our favourite hotel

Returned once again to our favourite hotel. As always, excellent. Good to see so many of the staff we remember, particularly Jean. Hope to come again soon.

Eva & Brian Dick – June 2014

What a fantastic time...

What a fantastic time I had at the Black Swan. It is easily the nicest hotel I’ve ever stayed in. Great food and great service.

Mr Bragg, Canada – June 2014

The staff are out of this world

Me & Mum have had a wonderful time. It’s the 3rd time now, we love it, it’s like family. The staff are out of this world. Thank you so much again.

Sally & Deanna Kirk – May 2014

Unable to fault anything

Had a wonderful stay. Food excellent, staff superb & very friendly – made our stay enjoyable. Unable to fault anything.

Mr & Mrs Green and Mr & Mrs Cook – May 2014

Will be back again

Once again spoilt from arriving to leaving, a beautiful meal, exquisite and a pleasant stay. Will be back again. Congrats to you all. Many thanks

Julie & Tony Briscoe – May 2014

Fabulous stay...

Fabulous stay thank you. Service was wonderful, staff and Yorkshire hospitality perfect and the food was absolutely stunning – we’ve had a brilliant time and will recommend to everyone! Thanks

Mr & Mrs Hudspeth – April 2014

Perfect in every way

Have just spent the most wonderful Birthday at The Black Swan on Saturday night with an overnight stay. All I can say is that it was perfect in every way, from the wonderful staff, to the beautiful bedroom and the exceptional food. Nothing was too much trouble, my Husband and I had a fantastic time and will definitely return in the future. A truly exceptional hotel. Thank you.

Doreen Harper – April 2014

Every bit as good as we expected

An excellent stay. Every bit as good as we expected. Compliments to the Chef – the taster menu was superb – we’ll be back!! Thank you so much!

Mr & Mrs Richard Asquith – April 2014

A truly wonderful overnight stay

A truly wonderful overnight stay! Was fantastic we could bring our little ‘fury friend’ with us. The staff here are second to none, we will return!

Mr & Mrs King-Joyce – March 2014

Words can't express...

Wow words can’t express how much we enjoyed our stay, fab place, fab food, beautiful building, but most of all amazing staff. Thanks for everything.

Paul & Jo Peer – March 2014

Felt like royalty

A fabulous stay, felt like royalty and can’t wait to get married here in December!

Keeley & Jez – March 2014

Truly scrumptious...

Truly scrumptious, a real culinary experience. Thank you for your hospitality, we shall return definitely.

Christine & Nigel Parry, Chester – February 2014

An experience we will never forget

A wonderful break, so relaxing and such wonderful food – huge compliments to the Chef. The Tasting Menu with drinks is an experience we will never forget. Wonderful service throughout and a special mention for the warmth and friendliness of both Grant in the restaurant and Laura in the bar. We will be back!

Jo & Marcus Pratt – February

Loved every second of it

Thank you all so very much for yet another fabulous time at the Black Swan. We’ve loved every second of it and can’t wait to come back again. We’ve had a fabulous Birthday and Anniversary weekend, made better by such superb staff! Thank you all!

The Jacksons – February 2014

We want to live here!

Thank you for a wonderful time. We want to live here!!!

Deanna & Sally – January 2014

Can't wait to come again

Thank you for an amazing weekend. Everything was absolutely perfect. The staff are so kind and made us feel so welcome. Can’t wait to come again.

Mr & Mrs Lowe – January 2014

Everything was perfect

Thank you so much to all the staff for helping to make my 30th Birthday and marriage proposal so so special!!! Everything was perfect.

Sarah Faulknor (soon to be Mrs Con Curtis!) – January 2014

Exceptional

Our first New Years Eve stay but won’t be the last. The hotel, staff & food have been exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Kelly & Neil – January 2014

A fabulous Christmas

Thank you for a fabulous Christmas. Food – excellent. Can’t wait for next Christmas. Thank you all.

Val & Isobel – December 2013

Thanks to all you fab people...

You made our first wedding anniversary so special – just like our wedding was. Thanks to all you fab people at The Black Swan – see you soon! All our love,

Mr & Mrs Nixon – December 2013

Lovely pre Christmas treat

A lovely pre Christmas treat. Fabulous food, lovely staff, very comfortable. Thank you.

Emma & Paul – December 2013

A lovely visit

A lovely visit to The Black Swan to celebrate our second wedding anniversary, extra special to bring our daughter Florence. Excellent food, drink, service and atmosphere (as usual). Thank you all.

Tim & Helen Ketteringam – December 2013

Wonderful experience from start to finish

A wonderful experience from start to finish… a warm welcome with a continued high level of customer service throughout. The 10 course Tasting Menu was an absolute delight – we will certainly be back. A great 20th wedding anniversary treat! Looking forward to the next visit already.

November 2013

Wonderful hotel...

Wonderful hotel, food & room. Staff so attentive and we love the cosy chairs by the fire! Will be back again. Thank you x

A Readman – November 2013

It gets better each time!

Fifth stay at The Black Swan, it gets better each time! Restaurant staff excellent, food amazing. We’ll be back at Christmas for our anniversary! Thank you.

Sue & Colin Western, Tadcaster – October 2013

Lived up to all our expectations

A fantastic meal that lived up to all our expectations. Comfortable room and excellent staff whenever and whoever we encountered.

The Makins, Scarborough – October 2013

What bliss!

We left 5 kids at home in Australia to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. What bliss! Gorgeous furnishings in our cosy room, outstanding food (by Aussie chef no less) and amazing location. THANK YOU!

D & L Horton, Australia – October 2013

A wonderful break

A wonderful break on the ‘To Dine For’ package. Lovely to spend our 1st anniversary here – all the staff were wonderful, the service was great and the 10 course meal was certainly ‘to dine for’! Thank you

Anureet Dhillon & Gurpreet Suri – October 2013

Marvelous!

Marvelous! Food beautiful, service excellent. We won a prize to stay here – how lucky were we!!

A. Danahay – September 2013

One of the most inspiring trips

This has been one of the most inspiring trips. Talking to Paul and sampling his phenomenal food has really got us thinking. Also the staff and team here really have made our whole experience exceptional and I shall be shouting about you all from the roof tops. Many thanks

Vicky & Miles – September 2013

Can't wait to return

Excellent one night stay – compliments to Paul for the wonderful ‘Taster’ experience. Can’t wait to return at Christmas.

John & Beryl – August 2013

Fabulous as always

We had a truly fantastic ‘Mini-moon’ – we can’t wait to come back again! Fabulous as always, thank you!

Mr & Mrs Jackson – August 2013

Exquisite meal

Exquisite meal – thank you Chef. We haven’t experienced the like for some time. Great value for money. Excellent, courteous staff too. Thank you.

J & F O’Connor, Manchester – August 2013

A real credit to the hotel

Staff at The Black Swan are delightful. A real credit to the hotel. Food outstanding. A lovely stay.

Philip & Elsbete Creed – July 2013

Out of this world!

The Evening meal was out of this world! Would highly recommend and we look forward to our next visit!

Elliot & Lucy Brown – July 2013

Excellent food, excellent service

Excellent food, excellent service. Nice friendly staff. Good olde world surroundings – very enjoyable and relaxing stay. Could not be faulted.

Mr & Mrs G Spence – July 2013

A delightful relaxing stay

Such a delightful relaxing stay. Food superb. But the real ‘jewel in the crown’ – the staff.

Alan & Joyce Mason – July 2013

The food was fantastic

Many thanks for a wonderful stay with you. It was our 42nd anniversary and the little treat of chocolates and card from the staff were much appreciated. We loved our room and the food was fantastic. We will definately come again. Thanks

Moira & Sandy Leask – July 2013

Wonderful night away

Wonderful night away, the six course Tasting Menu was amazing. The Restaurant staff are an ABSOLUTE credit to this hotel, hope they are paid well!

June 2013

A real treat

Our first stay too – one of many in the years to come. Very friendly efficient staff, a real treat. Thank you for making our weekend so special.

Mr & Mrs Gill – May 2013

Just wanted to say a massive thank you...

Just wanted to say a massive thank you for our lovely stay, what a beautiful hotel, friendly staff, fabulous food, tasting menus with wines, divine. Christian on the bar was fantastic too, providing us with his wealth of experience on Gin, my favourite tipple. Hope to come back, you made our 10th wedding anniversary one to remember. Our room was fab too! Many thanks

Rachel & David Barrick – May 2013

A fantastic time - yet again!

A 65th Birthday treat for my Husband! What a fab stay we’ve all had - staff were all absolute ‘stars’! Food amazing! We’ll certainly be back. Thank you, each and everyone.

Dave, Karen, Marion and Mike – April 2013

Amazing service...

Our first stay – most certainly NOT our last – amazing service, friendly staff, menu and food outstanding. Thank you to you all.

Mr & Mrs Townsend – May 2013

Staff were all absolute stars!

A 65th Birthday treat for my Husband! What a fab stay we’ve all had - staff were all absolute ‘stars’! Food amazing! We’ll certainly be back. Thank you, each and everyone.

Dave, Karen, Marion and Mike – April 2013

We keep returning each year

Thank you to Paul and all the staff for making another Wedding Anniversary at The Black Swan so special! Everything was fantastic and the reason we keep returning each year at this time!

John and Mary Herington – March 2013

A lovely one night stay & birthday meal

Had a lovely one night stay & birthday meal. Amazing food (we all agreed the best we had ever eaten) and fabulous, excellent waiting staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, only wish you were closer to Newcastle! Thank you for the ‘Happy Birthday’ dessert. Kindest regards

Kenyon Family – February 2013

A delightful stay

A Delightful stay. Good night’s sleep and excellent meal (the best we’ve had since eating in a Michelin stared restaurant in France!) Staff were great.

Sue Kirby & Lucy Kirby – February 2013

What a wonderful stay...

What a wonderful stay – room 8 was lovely. We enjoyed watching the world go by outside our window. The food was delicious – we’ve gained a stone each! Overall the most outstanding thing was the friendly, warm and helpful service. We’ll absolutely be back.

The Winlows, Sunderland – March 2013

A big thank you...

A big thank you to all the staff for a wonderful two days and giving us a wonderful Ruby Wedding Anniversary. Many Thanks

Mr and Mrs Cummings – March 2013

What a fabulous place to stay

What a fabulous place to stay staff give 150% to all guests. Rooms spotless, meals fabulous and we will definitely be returning here again. Thank you

R.Coates and Mr and Mrs Butler - March 2013

Golden wedding celebrations

Thank you very much for helping with our Golden Wedding Celebrations. So very special – from the very friendly, helpful staff to the delicious food. We shall long remember it with fondness and hope to see you all again.

Mr & Mrs Shannon – August 2012

An excellent weekend

Just a quick note to say a sincere thank you to you and the rest of the team at the Black Swan, for what proved to be an excellent weekend. Everyone enjoyed their stay immensely and commented on the standard of the rooms, the level of service and politeness of the staff, the pleasant relaxed  atmosphere of the hotel and the excellent quality of the food.

Ian Daley – March 2013

Impeccable service

Comfy beds, fluffy towels, hot water, luscious food, impeccable service. Thank you

Sheila Jones - February 2012

Don’t just take our word for it…

In addition to the many lovely comments that we receive directly at the hotel, many of our guests also choose to share their experiences of the hotel on Trip Advisor. Find out more about what our guests have to say…